In March 1967, engineers and technicians of the Aeronautical Electronics department of the Belgian Airways Agency (Regie der Luchtwegen / Régie des Voies Aériennes) founded the professional association (Belgian Guild of Aviation electronics) named GIBEL (Gilde der Belgische Electronici van de Luchtvaart / GIBEA (Guilde Belge des Electroniciens de l´Aviation.

The main goal of GIBEL / GIBEA was to provide information on equipment and systems used in Aviation Electronics. As ATC became more international, GIBEL / GIBEA joined the International Federation of Air Traffic Safety Electronics Associations (IFATSEA) in 1972 to exchange information concerning ATC and the ATSEP profession.

On the General Assembly of January 2004 the decision was taken to change the name GIBEL / GIBEA to ATSEP Belgium.


Following a series of person to person contacts over a number of years a meeting was convened in Brussels on the 12th and the 13th of November 1971, that assembled ATSEP from several countries. Attending the inaugural meeting were representatives from Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, United Kingdom, Ireland, Switzerland.

The meeting agreed that a draft Constitution would be presented to an inaugural Assembly to be held in Frankfurt in October 1972.

Ten countries were represented at the first Assembly. These were: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Israel, Switzerland and United Kingdom

The Assembly adopted the Constitution and the Federation had come into being with a membership of ten and a course of action was set in motion to make IFATSEA known, and to have as its primary object the recognition of Air Traffic Safety Electronics Personnel, by national and international bodies. It was decided that the achievement of these aims would best be served, by producing a journal and seeking the amendment of ICAO Annex 1.


ATSEP Belgium remains an active member of IFATSEA, which counts over 60 members.

The aims of the federation are:

  • To operate as a non-political Federation of Air Traffic Safety Electronics Associations;
  • To promote safety and efficiency in the international air navigation system.
  • To assist and advise in the development of electronics systems in order to maintain the safe, orderly and expeditious flow of air traffic;
  • To uphold a high standard of knowledge and professional efficiency among Air Traffic Safety Electronics Personnel;
  • To protect and safeguard the collective professional interests of Air Traffic Safety Electronics Personnel;
  • To consider mutually beneficial affiliations with other professional organizations.
  • To strive for a worldwide Federation of Air Traffic Safety Electronics Associations.


© 2016 ATSEP Belgium. All Rights Reserved.